Body beautiful

I know that any new fitness routine needs to be well-rounded and holistic, encouraging all parts of my body to work together to get stronger and more efficient. So, obviously, I am completely ignoring the above and have just started the one hundred push ups program.

But wait! According to the blurb on the site, “Push ups are not only great for your chest, but do a tremendous job of defining your abs, triceps, shoulders and torso.” Brilliant! My abs AND my torso! I recon I’ll be Superman soon.

So far, I have sailed through the course. Admittedly, I’ve only done day one: you find out your approximate maximum number of push-ups (is “press-ups” the British term? Or vice versa?), then you do 5 sets of press-ups as defined according to your base strength. My base strength is rubbish (but not rubbish like a girl), so the 5 sets I did yesterday were, in order, 10 12 7 7 then as many as you can (I managed 11 – this seems to be the key figure), with 60 seconds rest between each set.

Assuming I complete this – and I can’t help being cynical about that thought of me and my weak arms doing 100 press-ups in one go – I could move onto either 25 pull-ups, 200 sit-ups, or 200 squats. What fun!

(in diet news, I am an abject failure and barely below my Xmas weight. Need to ramp up the weight-loss for Australia, which is barely 5 weeks away…)

  1. Good luck to you. I have proved myself incapable of maintaining any regime that is actually good for me. Except perhaps going to bed every night. Now that has become a successful habit. Oh, and eating porridge with fruit for breakfast every day. It all goes downhill from there, usually

  2. Oh god, if I had to eat porridge every day I’d end it all 🙂

    • Olivia
    • February 16th, 2010

    Hmmmmm, my ‘silly exercise regime’ alarm is going off…

    ‘Push ups are one of the basic and most common exercises for the human body.’

    Running?

    I agree it’s good for core strength and torso, but weight loss? Not so sure… Also, we all know focused weight loss is a myth.

    • Stuart (StuAff)
    • February 16th, 2010

    Where could I find focused weight gain? Eating like a horse for the past few decades hasn’t worked……

  3. I don’t think it (or I) claimed the push-ups were for weight loss though! I shall achieve weight loss by channeling my qi through the dietetic chakras, obv.

    • Olivia
    • February 16th, 2010

    Waaaaait…. are you joking?

    Part of me hopes so…

    • Olivia
    • February 16th, 2010

    🙂

    Clearly I inferred where there was no implication!

    I have a wicked six-pack… it’s just hiding under layers of fat…

    • Paul
    • February 17th, 2010

    Sod the press ups, what’s this about Australia? Are you Melbourne-bound at all?

  4. Pah, get yourself a copy of Wii-Fit and do the exercises on there! I was quite impressed to see the press-up to side-stand listed in C+ this month as good for helping out of the saddle efforts 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

