Mix and match

  • Yay for WordPress stats. I now know that I have had visitors who were googling “cocks for sport”. Either this is some carefree cyber-cruising, or someone looking for tips on cockfighting. As ever, I hope it’s the former.
  • This news is more than five years old, but I can’t help feeling it’s a shame that element no. 111 has been named Roentgenium.  There was something unique and noble* about its previous name, Unununium.
  • And – can it be true? – it appears men are capable of seeing women as objects:

Researchers used brain scans to show that when straight men looked at pictures of women in bikinis, areas of the brain that normally light up in anticipation of using tools, like spanners and screwdrivers, were activated.

  • And finally, here’s a site that I have fallen head over heels in love with** – How to be a Retronaut. I have a deep passion for old stuff, whether it’s dinosaurs, archaeology, that food programme with Giles Coren and Sue Perkins, or, as in this case, rare old photos and film of times we don’t associate with cameras. The site also explores artistic approaches to the theme, with some wonderfully creative and original images among the authentic ephemera.

* Hahahaha! I hope you’re appreciating my chemistry pun here – Roentgenium is predicted to have an isotope more inert, or “noble”, than gold or silver, with which it shares a group. Hahahaha!
** I’ve decided to forgive HTBAR for the crime of using massive type, as bitched about on my earlier Tumblr blog. But they should take this as a warning.

  1. Oh, you’ll see some interesting things in the search terms. I’ve stumbled across a few that were a bit distburbing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

