Return from Oz

No-one even looks at this blog unless I ask them to, huh?

Fair enough. I’m back from holiday now, and there’ll be several scintillating breakdowns of Australian cultural mores to come over the next few days. But for now, I’m enjoying the weird stoned vibe of undiluted jetlag (though not enjoying the headache) which isn’t really conducive to writing, so this is just a short placeholder before I get back in my stride.

In Oz I had very little internet access and that I did have was dedicated to checking for urgent emails (there weren’t any) and, uh, checking the baseball. So no chance to work, blog or email for fun and profit.

I have started the long, tedious but ultimately satisfying task of uploading photos to Flickr – there are 380 or so that made it onto my computer and I’d guess about half will end up on Flickr. Luckily, Australia is a staggeringly beautiful and fascinating place so some of the  pics (taken on my new Panasonic Lumix ZX1) aren’t half bad – check them out if you’d like to (and keep coming back – it’ll take at least a week to upload them all!).

In the meantime, here’s a photo from Bree’s own collection that, for very obvious reasons, I’m very happy to show all y’all:

It always surprises me how normal England feels on my return, and this is my longest vacation ever. I’m hoping, though, that some of the aussie good feeling and friendliness may stay with me, at least for a while.

  1. In case anyone’s wondering, that fish was killed immediately and humanely, filleted and eaten by at least a dozen happy and grateful people the next day.

  2. “No-one even looks at this blog unless I ask them to, huh?”

    I swing by every once in a while 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

